Prime Minister: a historic breakthrough in the strategic energy security project


2018 06 29

Energatika Elektra tinklai.jpg

Today (June 28) Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Poland and the European Commission have signed an agreement for the synchronisation of the Baltic States' electricity networks with the continental European network. Signed in Brussels, the first political agreement of this level and scope provides for synchronisation via Poland by 2025. It envisages specific steps to ensure successful implementation of the project.

“The joint efforts of the Office of the President and the Government have produced a tangible result: we have finally managed to reach an agreement and, over a year an half, to achieve a historical breakthrough in the region. After ten years of symbolic talks about the last stage of energy independence, we will finally proceed to real work. This will put an end to the unjustifiably prolonged energy isolation and dependence of the Baltic States”, says Prime Minister Saulius Skvernelis.
The Baltic States’ synchronisation with European power grids is the key issue for the Baltic States’ energy security. Upon implementing this project, Lithuania will become a full-fledged member of the European Union (EU) in terms of energy and for the first time it will be completely independent in the area of energy.
The signed action plan envisages further necessary technical and political steps and time-frames to ensure that synchronisation via Poland is completed by 2025, as agreed by all the parties.
The Agreement provides that an essential step necessary for synchronisation, an application to the European Network of Transmission System Operators for electricity (ENTSO-E) will be submitted no later than by the 21st of September. This will mark an official start of synchronisation with the continental European networks.

By this Agreement, the European Commission (EC) has undertaken to continue supporting and promoting the project, which is relevant for the energy security of the entire region. Over the last year and a half, the synchronization project has secured both political as well as financial support from the EU.

“Despite being independent for nearly 30 years and members of the EU for 15 years, Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia still remain the only EU countries functioning within the electricity system under Russian and Belarusian control. Synchronisation has recently become the EC’s priority number one as well as an integral part of the EU Energy Union. This unprecedented political support from the EC and its commitment to provide maximum financial support for this project is what clears the path for smooth implementation of this project”, says the Prime Minister.
A major breakthrough in the Baltic Sates’ synchronisation process was made possible by the very close cooperation between the Lithuanian and Polish Governments. Poland’s support for synchronisation through Poland is of vital importance, because without it connecting the Baltic States’ and western electricity networks would not be practicable.
The Agreement also invites the EC to initiate procedures necessary to start a discussion with Russia and Belarus on the disconnection of the Baltic State’s electricity networks from the Soviet power system IPS/UPS.